Florida’s New PIP Law: What it Means to You

Florida’s New PIP Law: What it Means to You

law.photo

Florida’s new PIP law applies to policies issued or renewed after January 1, 2013. What does it mean to you? If you are in a car accident, here are some things to keep in mind about Florida’s new PIP law:

1.            First, you must get medical evaluation within 14 days or there is no coverage. Period.

2.            Do you have to go to the hospital for the first evaluation? No, but you must be evaluated by a licensed medical doctor, osteopath, chiropractor, or dentist. Or you can be evaluated at a hospital or medical facility that owns, or is owned by, a hospital. A person may also be evaluated by a paramedic licensed under Chapter 401, Florida Statutes.

3.           A physician must make a determination of an “emergency medical condition” for the $10,000.00 coverage to apply; otherwise, your coverage is limited to $2,500.00. Reimbursement for medical services and care is covered for 80% of reasonable expenses up to $10,000 if a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, a dentist licensed under chapter 466, a physician assistant licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, or an advanced registered nurse practitioner licensed under chapter 464 has determined that the injured person had an “emergency medical condition.” If there is no such determination of an emergency medical condition as outlined above, coverage is limited to 80% of reasonable expenses up to $2,500.00. Note: Under the new PIP law, a chiropractor cannot make the determination of “emergency medical condition.”

4.          Not All Treatments Are Covered. For example, massage therapy and acupuncture are no longer covered under the new law.

To learn more about Florida’s new PIP law, call the Law Office of Kerri C. Smith, P.A. We are available 9-5 p.m., Monday through Friday at 561-981-6234.

Leave a Reply